Srigaruda.com: Vedic Jyotish Horoscopes

पक्षीन्द्र pakṣīndra
Pakṣi-indra, lit. the king of birds. Also refers to
Garuḍa as the king of the sky, much like the Sun


The word Mantra comes from the two words: Mana & Traya which mean mind and protection respectively. So mantra’s are meant to protect the mind of living beings. Mantras exist in the form of syllables and words and can be as short as one syllable and as long as sixty-four syllables. Beyond this they are known as stotras.
The mantra is a form of prayer meant to propitiate a Devata.

There are 33 Deva with about 330 million forms (Rath, Foundation of Vedic Astrology - The philosophy, 2002) in the vedic pantheon and they depict various lights and sounds of the one God which existed before the creation. Just as light gives shape and form to all objects and thus gives knowledge of them, so also the Devata gives knowledge of the universe which exists around us. This has been utilized very well by the vedic seers who have given us a means to understand the universe around us, as well as that which existed before the creation, through the help of sound.

This section is devoted to understanding the Devatas and the mantras, prayers and spiritual practices associated with them. This work can merely be an attempt as the subject is limited to the writings and words of this author. As a result any ideas, recommendations or additions are welcomed.

Śrī Vāmana Mantra (Meru Tantra)

E-mail Print PDF

Shri Vamana - Sampradaya SunŚrī Vāmana is the Avatara of Viṣṇu, and as per Parāśara Muni Jupiter is associated with Śrī Vāmana. The Ṛg Veda worships him as the one who establishes and upholds dharma in three steps. In this form he is known as Śrī Trivikrama:

त्रीणि पाद वि चक्रमे विष्णुर्गोपा अदाभ्यः। अतो धर्माणि धारयन्॥
trīṇi pāda vi cakrame viṣṇurgopā adābhyaḥ| ato dharmāṇi dhārayan||

A popular mantra from the Bhagavad Puraṇa is the 12 syllable:

ॐ नमो भगवते दधिवामनाय।
om namo bhagavate dadhivāmanāya|

Astrologically, Śrī Vāmana is specifically worshipped in the following cases:

  • Jupiter placed in the 12th house from Lagna, in any sign. [This gives great karma, leading to moksha and elates the soul]
  • Jupiter in exaltation in any house without retrogression. [This is the appropriate way to approach Jupiter in exaltation]
Last Updated on Thursday, 05 March 2015 08:47

Vedic Śanti Stotra

E-mail Print PDF

Śanti is the standard practice taken for granted by every spiritual tradition in India and if you haven't begun its practice now you should start and begin asking for peace in your life. This is recommended by Parāśara Muni for all those suffering from problems from Mars in their charts, especially during Mars Daśā and Antaradaśā.
The following Stotras are from the 4(5) veda and are chosen based on the Veda one follows. 

Last Updated on Monday, 05 December 2011 11:51

Ratna (gemstones) [updated]

E-mail Print PDF


हरे राम कृष्ण
Dear Chandan, Namaskar.
Excuse me for not answering in full in my last mail, I realise no one learns if no one shares, so here is what I have learned and have to share.
I have gathered the following rules reg. gemstones with time:
Updates are given hereunder with reference to the teachings of Pt. Sanjay Rath from the Gemstone Workshop in California, 2009.
Last Updated on Friday, 17 September 2010 17:02


E-mail Print PDF

shakti_ganGaṇa+Iśa or Gaṇa+Pati.
Pati or Iśa means ruler or lord. The word Gaṇa has various meanings:

  • Gaṇa: A company, any assemblage or association of men formed for the attainment of the same aims. Here the leader of this assembly is called Gaṇapati and guides the assembly. If this was for a group of Jyotiṣa the leader would be called Jyotir-Gaṇapati. The Mahārāja of Puri was called Gaṇapati due to his function of directing and appointing the work of the people.
  • Gaṇa –devata: troops or 9 classes of Deva considered as Śiva’s attendants and under the special superintendence of Gaṇeśa. These are: Āditya (12), Viśva (13), Vasu (8), Tuṣita (36), Ābhāsvara (64), Anila (49), Mahārājika, Sādhya (17) and Rudra(11).
  • Gaṇa: A small body of troops (3 Gulmas or 27 chariots and as many elephants, 81 horses, and 135 footmen).


  • Nakṣatra- Gaṇa: A series or group of asterisms or lunar mansions classed under three heads (that of the Deva (divine beings), that of the Manuṣya (men), and that of the Rākshasas (merciless beings).
  • Gaṇa-chhandas: a metre a foot or four instants
  • Gaṇā: Name of one of the mothers in Skanda’s retinue Ahar-, Marūd-, Vṛṣa-, Sā-, Saptā-, Sārva-, Deva-, Mahā-, and Vida-gaṇā
Last Updated on Friday, 17 September 2010 20:11

Agni: the holy fire

E-mail Print PDF

agni11Agni is a reference to the fire-element, as well as the devatā who carries the same. Symbolizing one of the five base elements, some scholars have equated the worship of Agni to a more pre-hindu period where the worship mainly consisted of the visible elements of the universe such as water, earth, trees, air, etc. With that, some scholars have divided the various facets of God, such as Śiva, Gaṇeśa, Agni etc. into two groups of Vedic deities and Hindu deities thinking that with time the deities have changed their form or identity, or simply new names/Gods have come into existence in the minds of the population.

agni_q&a.pdf[ ]423 Kb
Last Updated on Tuesday, 19 March 2013 09:30

More Articles...




Trouble with fonts?

If you have difficulty reading the fonts on this page, make sure you enable the usage of complex scripts. To learn more read here: Enabling complex scripts.

You are here: Publications Mantra