Published on the Sohamsa and Srijagannath forums.

Atma (soul), Mana (mind) and Tanu (body). These correspond to the i) Charakarakas, ii) Naisargika karakas and iii) Sthira karakas respectively. The dhi or intelligence is an addition to these three, which has been created by Vasudeva (refer creation). Through the lagna we have Bhaava. Look up the sanskrit word for this and you will find that it means much more than just house. It means ‘approach’ or ‘manner of acting/condition, state etc’.
So each bhaava in the chart shows:
i) how we approach a certain aspect of life (bhaava itself)
ii) how we are approached by those people indicated by those aspects of life (bhaavesha – lordship)

For now i will omit the Chara karakas from this discussion. We are thus left with:
i. the analysis of the mana/mind (karaka) and its experiences with certain bhaavas.
ii. the analysis of the mana/mind (karaka) and its experiences with certain people (bhavesha).

Bhaava from Lagna shows how you approach those various activities in life. I.e. if you have Mars in tenth you will be aggressive in work. If you have Saturn in tenth you will be very slow and take your time to finish things. If you have nodes in seventh you may cheat on your wife (ref: sarvartha chintamani). Now why do you think Parasara says that if Mars is in seventh the native will have three broken marriages?
It has to do with ones approach, and naturally how you approach is what you get.

Bhaava in the rasi shows how ‘I’ approach the various aspects of my life, but to get a detailed understanding of the character and traits of other people i must see the divisional chart associated with them. In a sense the Rasi is the self-centric view of everything, and thus becomes the most important chart. I.e. Seventh house in rasi shows how I approach relationships, but its the seventh house in navamsa through which i can describe the spouse and his/her traits.

Bhaava from Karaka
shows how we experience various activities in life. I.e. the sambandha between Venus and the fourth house shows how our experience of vehicles and similar comforts impact our PERCEPTION of vehicles. The sambandha between Venus and the seventh house will show how we see relationships and how they affect us. I.e. I have Venus in the second house and have had to come to terms with a very warped idea about relationships as the seventh house will sit in the sixth (celibacy, competitions, etc) from Venus. Had malefics also been placed in the seventh (wrong approach), or the seventh lord was associated with malefics (wrong partners) this could have been disastrous.

Bhaavesh from Karaka
shows how we experience various people in our life. I.e. the sambandha between Venus and the seventh lord shows how the specific partners affect us in life and make us feel. Thus the experience of married life vs. the experience of having a spouse/partner can be completely different things.

The Karaka-bhava, i.e. for Guru: ninth house/lord from Jupiter, or for relationships: seventh house/lord from Venus, show how that specific person is brought to your Mana/mind. The ninth house is there for every lagna, but yet not everyone has a Guru. So also if the ninth house/lord from Jupiter is under influence this will affect how ones Guru comes into ones life, or is inhibited from the same. Similarly everyone has a father, but if the ninth house/lord from Sun is afflicted then one may be separated from the father. Thus here we are analyzing to the various people coming to your attention/mind/mana.

Finally Karaka itself shows the overall nature of ones experiences related to that karaka. If Venus is afflicted the person will not look very happily at the prospect of relationships, i.e. Venus joined Sun, Mars, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu can show: Ego, Anger, Sorrow, Shock and Headlessness as problems in relationships respectively. The more of these afflicting the same, the worse the situation, but this is attributed to the self and is a result of being in experiences with other people, but not necessarily caused by other people.

Whew!.. there is a lot more such as the sambandha between lords Tithi, Vara, Nakshatra, Yoga and Karana with the various bhaavas, not to speak of the use of Chara karakas which are the most important.

I have given examples of these karaka/bhava principles in the seventh house chapter in my book. I do recommend referring to the same for further understanding.

Yours sincerely, Visti Larsen